KANSAS OFFICE of
  REVISOR of STATUTES

  

Home >> Statutes >> Back


Click to open printable format in new window.Printable Format
 | Next

8-1,138. Registration of vehicles; residency; exceptions. (a) For purposes of article 1 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, a person shall be deemed to be a resident of a county in this state if:

(1) The person, including a student, is registered to vote in such county; or

(2) the person, partnership, company, firm, corporation or association maintains an office within such county to lease or rent motor vehicles, if such motor vehicles are operated within the state for a period exceeding 60 days.

(b) For purposes of article 1 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, there is a rebuttable presumption that a person is a resident of a county in this state if any of the following exist:

(1) The person, other than a student, owns, leases or rents a place of domicile within such county and remains in such county for a period exceeding 90 days, except for infrequent or brief absences;

(2) the person enrolls the person's child in a school district, all or any part of which is located in such county, unless out-of-state tuition is being charged for the attendance of the child at school in such school district;

(3) the person has a place of domicile in such county and has accepted employment or engages in any trade, profession or occupation within this state;

(4) any individual, partnership, company, firm, corporation or association maintains a main or branch office or warehouse facility within such county or bases and operates motor vehicles in such county, if such motor vehicles are garaged in such county for a period exceeding 90 days; or

(5) any individual, partnership, company, firm, corporation or association operates motor vehicles in intrastate haulage in this state, if such motor vehicles are garaged in such county for a period exceeding 90 days.

(c) For purposes of this section, resident does not include:

(1) A student who is enrolled for at least nine hours of credit at a college or university in this state, if the student has a domicile in another state and has a valid driver's license and vehicle registration issued by the state of domicile; and

(2) members of the armed forces who are stationed in the state, provided such members' vehicles are properly registered in such members' state of residence.

History: L. 1990, ch. 34, ยง 1; July 1.


 | Next

NEW
2020 Amended and Repealed Statutes

2020 SPECIAL SESSION
Information for Special Session 2020

LEGISLATIVE COORDINATING COUNCIL
4/1/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/10/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
12/30/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
11/19/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
9/16/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
4/2/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/29/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/27/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/24/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda

LCC Policies

REVISOR OF STATUTES
2020 Interim Committee Assignments
2020
Chapter 72 Statute Transfer List
Kansas School Equity & Enhancement Act
Gannon v. State
General Information, Legal Analysis & Research
2019 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2018 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2017 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2016 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2015 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2014 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2013 Amended & Repealed Statutes

USEFUL LINKS
Session Laws

 OTHER LEGISLATIVE SITES
Kansas Legislature
Administrative Services
Division of Post Audit
Research Department