Home >> Statutes >> Back

Click to open printable format in new window.Printable Format
 | Next

25-2808. Election board; number of members; two-member boards, restrictions. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b), the county election officer shall determine for each election, for each voting place, whether the election board thereof will have three members or some greater number of members.

(b) The county election officer may appoint an election board of two members for any precinct having less then 50 registered voters and in which the voting place is located more than 10 miles from any other voting place. Such members shall not be members of the same political party. In the event of an emergency or if one of the members of the election board is unable to complete the duties prescribed by law, the county election officer shall be informed and the member of the election board shall be replaced immediately. If at anytime one of the board members shall leave the room where the ballots are kept, a note describing the time, situation and number of voted ballots, or if applicable, the vote which has been counted, shall be written in the registration book. The time that such second member of the election board returns shall be written in the registration book and the note signed by both board members. If at any time both members of the election board leave the room, a notation to that effect shall be made in the registration book and the ballots secured against tampering.

History: L. 1968, ch. 406, § 16; L. 1969, ch. 193, § 4; L. 1992, ch. 6, § 3; L. 1994, ch. 26, § 2; L. 1995, ch. 192, § 51; July 1.

 | Next

LCC Policies
Session Laws

Amended & Repealed Statutes

Amended & Repealed Statutes

Chapter 72 Statute Transfer List

Kansas School Equity & Enhancement Act

Gannon v. State

General Information, Legal Analysis & Research

2016 Amended & Repealed Statutes

2015 Amended & Repealed Statutes

2014 Amended & Repealed Statutes

2013 Amended & Repealed Statutes

Kansas Legislature
Administrative Services
Division of Post Audit
Research Department