KANSAS OFFICE of
  REVISOR of STATUTES

  

Home >> Statutes >> Back


Click to open printable format in new window.Printable Format
 | Next

47-1721. License and permit fees; costs of inspection; disposition of moneys. (a) Each application for issuance or renewal of a license or permit required under K.S.A. 47-1701 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall be accompanied by the fee prescribed by the commissioner under this section. Such fees shall be as follows:

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (5) or (6), for a license for premises of a person licensed under public law 91-579 (7 U.S.C. § 2131 et seq.), an amount not to exceed $200;

(2) except as provided in paragraph (5) or (6), for a license for any other premises, an amount not to exceed $405;

(3) for a temporary closing permit, an amount not to exceed $95;

(4) for an out-of-state distributor permit, an amount not to exceed $675;

(5) for a hobby breeder license or a kennel operator license an amount not to exceed $95;

(6) for a license for an animal shelter or a pound, an amount not to exceed $300; and

(7) a late fee of $70 shall be assessed to any person whose permit or license renewal is more than 45 days late.

(b) The commissioner shall determine annually the amount necessary to carry out and enforce K.S.A. 47-1701 et seq., and amendments thereto, for the next ensuing fiscal year and shall fix by rules and regulations the license and permit fees for such year at the amount necessary for that purpose, subject to the limitations of this section. In fixing such fees, the commissioner may establish categories of licenses and permits, based upon the type of license or permit, size of the licensed or permitted business or activity and the premises where such business or activity is conducted, and may establish different fees for each such category. The fees in effect immediately prior to the effective date of this act shall continue in effect until different fees are fixed by the commissioner as provided by this subsection.

(c) If a licensee, permittee or applicant for a license or permit requests an inspection of the premises of such licensee, permittee or applicant, the commissioner shall assess the costs of such inspection, as established by rules and regulations of the commissioner, to such licensee, permittee or applicant.

(d) No fee or assessment required pursuant to this section shall be refundable.

(e) The commissioner shall remit all moneys received by or for the commissioner under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the animal dealers fee fund, which is hereby created in the state treasury. Moneys in the animal dealers fee fund may be expended only to administer and enforce K.S.A. 47-1701 et seq., and amendments thereto. All expenditures from the animal dealers fee fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the Kansas animal health commissioner or the commissioner's designee.

(f) Premises required to be licensed under the Kansas pet animal act shall not be required to pay for more than one license. If more than one operation is ongoing at the premises, each operation shall comply with the applicable statutes and rules and regulations pertaining to such operation.

(g) Except as provided further, when a premises required to be licensed or permitted under the Kansas pet animal act applies for an initial license or permit, the commissioner shall prorate to the nearest whole month the license or permit fee established in subsection (a). The commissioner shall have discretion to determine whether the application is an initial application or an application for a premises which has been doing business but is not licensed or permitted. If the commissioner determines the premises has been doing business without a license or permit, the commissioner is not required to prorate the fee.

(h) This section shall be part of and supplemental to K.S.A. 47-1701 et seq., and amendments thereto.

History: L. 1988, ch. 189, § 12; L. 1991, ch. 152, § 23; L. 1996, ch. 151, § 21; L. 2001, ch. 5, § 172; L. 2005, ch. 190, § 1; L. 2012, ch. 140, § 98; July 1.


 | Next

USEFUL LINKS
LCC Policies
Session Laws

Amended & Repealed Statutes

Kansas School Equity & Enhancement Act
Gannon v. State

General Information, Legal Analysis & Research

2016 Amended & Repealed Statutes

2015 Amended & Repealed Statutes

2014 Amended & Repealed Statutes

2013 Amended & Repealed Statutes

 OTHER LEGISLATIVE SITES
Kansas Legislature
Administrative Services
Division of Post Audit
Research Department