KANSAS OFFICE of
  REVISOR of STATUTES

  

Home >> Statutes >> Back


Click to open printable format in new window.Printable Format
 | Next

8-275. Same; qualifications to operate school. Every person in order to qualify to operate a driving school shall meet the following requirements:

(a) Be of good moral character.

(b) Maintain an established place of business to the public.

(c) Maintain bodily injury and property damage liability insurance on motor vehicles while used in driving instruction, insuring the liability of the driving school, the driving instructors and any person taking instruction in at least the following amounts: One hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident and, subject to said limit for one person, two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one accident and the amount of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for damage to property of others in any one accident. Evidence of such insurance coverage in the form of a certificate from the insurance carrier shall be filed with the state department of education, and such certificate shall stipulate that the insurance shall not be canceled except upon ten (10) days prior written notice to the state board. Such insurance shall be written by a company authorized to do business in this state.

(d) Provide a continuous surety company bond in the principal sum of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) for the protection of the contractual rights of students in such form as will meet with the approval of the state board and written by a company authorized to do business in this state. However, the aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the condition of the bond in no event shall exceed the principal sum of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500). The surety on any such bond may cancel such bond on giving thirty (30) days notice thereof in writing to the state board and shall be relieved of liability for any breach of any condition of the bond which occurs after the effective date of cancellation.

(e) Have the equipment necessary to the giving of proper instruction in the operation of motor vehicles as prescribed by the state board.

(f) Pay to the board an application fee of twenty-five dollars ($25).

History: L. 1965, ch. 72, § 3; L. 1969, ch. 310, § 4; July 1.


 | Next

NEW
2020 Amended and Repealed Statutes

2020 SPECIAL SESSION
Information for Special Session 2020

LEGISLATIVE COORDINATING COUNCIL
12/30/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
11/19/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
9/16/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
4/2/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/29/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/27/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/24/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda

LCC Policies

REVISOR OF STATUTES
2020 Interim Committee Assignments
2020
Chapter 72 Statute Transfer List
Kansas School Equity & Enhancement Act
Gannon v. State
General Information, Legal Analysis & Research
2019 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2018 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2017 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2016 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2015 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2014 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2013 Amended & Repealed Statutes

USEFUL LINKS
Session Laws

 OTHER LEGISLATIVE SITES
Kansas Legislature
Administrative Services
Division of Post Audit
Research Department